3 things I discovered about Hungarians

trivia-hungary

  1. Not clinking their beers 

During my first few days, while partying in Budapest, something strange happened to me. I was at a pub with friends and when the waitress brought us our big pints of beer, we grabbed them and said “Egeszsegedre”, as we recently learned it meant “cheers” in Hungarian.  An old man came upto us and started shouting at us, in Hungarian as you can imagine. We asked him to speak in English, but it was really pointless. Suddenly a man from the next table explained us that clinking the beer glasses is insulting to the Hungarian people because of the fact that in 1848 the Austrians had suppressed an uprising by Hungarian nationalists and were preparing to execute the leaders. Before the executions took place, the Austrians celebrated noisily. They toasted their success in repressing the uprising by loudly clinking their beer glasses.

So on the first of January 1850, Hungarians made a pledge to never do that.

When I got home, I searched for this ‘tradition” on the internet and I found out that Hungarians agreed not to do that for one hundred and fifty years. So on the first of January 2000, they started doing it again.

Someone inform the old man that the year is now 2013 🙂

    2. Blowing their nose in public

I was in class, trying to understand what the term editing is, when a really annoying noise echoed in my ears. It sounded like an old sick man blowing all the contents from inside his nose. As curious as I was, I turned my back to see who it was. And guess what, it was a good looking young lady honking her nose as if there is no tomorrow!!

As the days went by, I reached to the conclusion that Hungarian people blow their noses as loud as possible in public.

  3. The longest Hungarian word

As you know already, and if you don’t know I can inform you now, that the hungarian language is one of the most difficult languages in the world! It has prefixes and suffixes and 44 letters in the alphabet and 14 vowels which all really sound the same to me! So “Megszentségteleníthetetlenségeskedéseitekért”,

with 44 letters is officially the longest Hungarian word which is in use. It means something like “for your keeping behaving as if you could not be profaned”.

Take a deep breath before you start to read it!

Leave a Reply

