Ladies of the night.

IMG_4459

I’m not sure if it’s a good or bad thing that there are 24 hour supermarkets at which you can buy charred meat in a pita at any time of night. When I step on a weighing scales I think it’s a bad thing but when I’m bored at 3AM they seem like a great idea. One night as I was coming out of the shop a young woman in a puffy jacket came up to me and spoke quite a lot of Hungarian at me. I continued chewing until I could speak and muttered, “English?” expecting a plea for bus fare or a question about directions.

“Sex?” Was a question that shocked me a little.

“No thank you. I have a gyros” was the only thing I could think to say and I realized how stupid it sounded as soon as I had closed my mouth and scuttled into the night. What was also going through my head was, “I’’m pretty! I’m pretty!”

It happened again a few days later, a woman who was old enough to be my mother waved at me in the most coquettish way imaginable. Again I blushed and hurried away trying to convince myself that I was pretty. Of course the women asking and waving didn’t think of me in any other way than a person trying to get you to come into their shop. Then I started to feel sad for the women, their job really is a bit crap. And you wonder how many times a night people scuttle away from them. So if this does happen to you, be polite and remember its not because you don’t look cute enough to get laid for free.

Leave a Reply

