Feelings alert!

bigpreview_Budapest, Hungary

If you ask me what’s my biggest love, after dance, I will answer you : travelling. It may sound clichéd, but yes… I truly believe that travelling is the only thing you buy that makes you richer! New places, new landscapes , new people , new cultures , new ways of behavior , new habits , new weather…everything is different, and that’s why it is sooo much interesting!

So, when I had the chance to combine this true passion with my studies , along with living abroad , I decided to come to Budapest. Everybody asks me why. I don’t really know, to be honest! Maybe just because out of curiosity to discover a place totally unknown to me, North Europe( or Central , but compared to Greece it’s Northern! ) , together with the extremely different climate and weather. Testing my physical strength ? Until now , I’ve always thought  I am most of the time sneezy , but I really don’t care any more! It’s fun as long as the fever doesn’t make itself noticeable ! Testing my adaptation skills ? Hmm, I think I’m doing pretty well at that !

But generally , when coming here , I didn’t really know what to expect. Yes fine , Erasmus and whatever goes along with it, but regarding the city? As I remember myself in my very first days here in Budapest , I think I didn’t need too much time to fall in love with it! Those marvelous bridges – especially the Szabadság híd , the stunning view from Citadella , the peaceful Margitsziget , the I-can’t-even-describe-it-effect of Hősök tere ( Heroes’ Square ),the impressive Parliament and St. István’s Basilica buildings and the fairytale sense of the Fisherman’s Bastion and the Buda Castle … This city has never made me feel like a stranger! Instead , strolling on the streets of Buda and Pest I feel like I’ve been living here for years. Each and every new place I meet seems so familiar , but still so breathtaking every single time I see them again.

I spent a few days in Spain to meet my Greek friends who are doing their Erasmus there, and today (which was actually my last day in Spain)  I found myself counting the hours till getting back home. The night Budapest lights, as seen from the airplane , made me even more impatient to touch the ground… And when I finally stepped out of the subway , and saw my city wearing its Christmas decoration , I felt that this was exactly what I needed: the warm chocolate smell in the air and Christmas melodies “dancing” through the streets of Budapest…

karacsony_547px

Wait , did I say “my city” ?

Oh Budapest , you’ve really put a spell on me…

 

Athina Mastoraki

Leave a Reply

